ICT are finding greater use in India’s infrastructure development process. As the use of technology increases, so does its vulnerability exposing the critical infrastructure to cyber attacks which may have serious implications for the economy and nation at large. In the past, the cyber attacks against global organizations and government entities have raised concerns on the security of the critical infrastructure.

Recognizing this move, and the fact that more and more critical infrastructure is being owned and operated by the private enterprises, it becomes imperative that government and industry come together in formulating policies and practices for securing Cyberspace. With this in view, NASSCOM along with DSCI constituted the NASSCOM-DSCI Cyber Security Advisory Group. The group comprises leaders from public and private sector and law enforcement. It was chaired by Chairman of NASSCOM Executive Council while CEO, DSCI acted as Member Secretary.

The Group’s mandate was to come up with recommendations for consideration by the government on public-private partnership in capacity building and policy making covering the areas: Critical Infrastructure Protection, Best Practices for Cyber Security, Early Watch and Warning System, Education & Awareness, Law Enforcement Capability Development, Assurance in ICT supply chain and Cyber Warfare. Members were requested deliberate on the threats in their respective areas, study emerging trends and policy evolution and the experience of implementing them in other countries, and evolve policies of relevance to the Indian context.

DSCI consolidated the preliminary recommendations provided by the CSAG members and also did an extensive study on polices and initiatives of developed countries and India’s initiatives to develop its own recommendations. Finally, it emerged that the CSAG group should prioritize the existing recommendations to provide the government key priority areas for action, detailing the role of the industry in each such area. As a result, the CSAG group has come out with ten key pragmatic and actionable recommendations which also detail the role of the government and industry.

On April 30, 2012, Honourable Union Home Minister, Shri. P Chidambaram, released the NASSCOM-DSCI Report – ‘Securing Our Cyber Frontiers’.

Speaking on the occasion, Shri. Chidambaram said, “From a national security point of view, this is an important report and law enforcement agencies should quickly scale up their capacity to deal with these new crimes. We look forward to working with NASSCOM-DSCI in implementing the recommendations of NASSCOM-DSCI Report- Securing Our Cyber Frontiers”.

Going forward it is proposed to convert the CSAG to DSCI Cyber Security Policy Forum (CSPF), which will act as a standing committee of PPP. It will institutionalize the cyber security initiative of the industry and its engagement with the government. As the focal agency for data protection and cyber security, DSCI will anchor and spearhead CSPF.

Mr. Rajendra Pawar Ex-Chairman, Executive Council, NASSCOM and Chairman & Co-founder, NIIT Group

Member Secretary
Dr. Kamlesh Bajaj, Chief Executive Officer, Data Security Council of India

Public Sector (Listed in alphabetical order)

Members’ Name Designation Organization
Mr. Anil Kumar Chief Information Security Officer ONGC
Mr. M. D. Agrawal Head- IT, Refinery Division BPCL
Mr. M.M. Oberai Deputy Inspector General of Police CBI
Mr. R. K. Sharma General Manager-IT BSNL
Mr. S.P. Mukhopadhyay Chief Information Security Officer SBI

Private Sector (Listed in alphabetical order)

Members’ Name Designation Organization
Mr. Adapa Raja Vijay Kumar Vice President & Global Information Security Leader Genpact
Mr. Ameet Nivsarkar Vice President NASSCOM
Mr. Arijit Sengupta Chief Executive Officer BeyondCore
Col. Arun Kumar Anand Vice President & Chief Information Security Officer NIIT Technologies
Mr. Felix Mohan Senior Vice President & Global Chief Information Security Officer Bharti Airtel
Mr. Mukesh Aghi Chairman & Chief Executive Officer Steria India
Mr. Murali Krishna Senior Vice President and Head of Global IT Infosys
Ms. Nandita Jain Mahajan Chief Privacy Officer and Director IBM Global Process Services
Mr. Pankaj Agrawal Chief Information Security Officer & Head IT Governance Aircel
Mr. Pazhamalai Jayaraman CISO & G M – Information Risk Management & Policy Compliance Wipro
Mr. Rajesh Dalal Vice President – Technology MakeMyTrip India Private Limited
Mr. Rohan Mitra Manager -Corporate Affairs Yahoo India Private Limited
Col. Sameer Anukul Director- Risk Prevention Carrefour
Mr. Sanjay Bahl Chief Information Security Officer Microsoft
Mr. Suhaan Mukerji Partner Amarchand Mangaldas
Mr. Vishal Salvi Chief Information Security Officer HDFC Bank
Mr. Yazad Patel Managing Director & Head- IT Deutsche Bank